Workforce Innovation & Opportunity Act (WIOA) Services

Northern Area Workforce Development Board

New Mexico Northern Area Local Workforce Development Board (NALWDB) promotes business and community partnerships for local economic development while providing vocational training and employment services to meet the demands of a changing workforce. The Northern Area is comprised of ten counties that include Cibola, Colfax, Los Alamos, Mckinley, Mora, Rio Arriba, San Juan, Santa Fe, San Miguel, and Taos.

Central Area Workforce Development Board

The Central Area Mid-Region Council of Governments (MRCOG) represents the counties of Sandoval, Bernalillo, Valencia, and Torrance. MRCOG provides planning services in the areas of transportation, agriculture, workforce development, employment growth, land use, water, and economic development. The Workforce Connection of Central New Mexico Business and Career Centers provide assistance to area employers while providing quality resources for people exploring career opportunities.

Southwestern Area Workforce Development Board

The New Mexico Southwestern Area Workforce Development Board is the governing and funding body for the delivery of services through the Workforce Investment Act (WIA) program to the Southwestern region. The Southwestern region is comprised of seven counties that include Catron, Socorro, Sierra, Grant, Hidalgo, Luna, and Dona Ana. The WIA program partners with other government and non-governmental programs to deliver an array of services that are geared toward satisfying the workforce needs of businesses, job seekers and youth.

Eastern Area Workforce Development Board

The Eastern Area Workforce Development Board (EAWDB) serves twelve counties on the East side of New Mexico. Those counties include Chaves, Curry, De Baca, Eddy, Guadalupe, Harding, Lea, Lincoln, Otero, Quay, Roosevelt, and Union. The Board oversees WIA funding that provides individual training for Adult and Dislocated Workers, Adult and Dislocated Worker On-The-Job Training, and WIA Youth. In addition the Board in conjunction with the New Mexico Human Services Department oversees the Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF), Food Stamp (FS), and Employment and Training (E&T) programs in their twelve county area.