

MATTHEW GEISEL CABINET SECRETARY



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE December 13, 2016

Contact: Benjamin Cloutier

505-670-7024 Benjamin.Cloutier@state.nm.us

New Mexico Economic Development Department Congratulates NMIDEA Annual Award Recipients

Santa Fe, N.M. - The New Mexico Economic Development Department congratulates the recipients of New Mexico IDEA's (NMIDEA) annual awards. NMIDEA is a 37-year-old association of economic developers, city officials and development related executives interested in and working toward the promotion of New Mexico. Each year NMIDEA recognizes individuals for their outstanding contribution and tireless efforts on behalf of the association, their communities and the State of New Mexico.

"These individuals exemplify the work and commitment in the economic development field," said NMIDEA President and NMEDD Division Director Therese Varela. "These awards are a symbol of their professionalism, dedication to the association, their communities and the State of New Mexico's economic development and job creation efforts."

2016 recipients:

Ben Lujan Public Servant of the Year Award

Sharlene Begay-Platero, Industrial Specialist for the Navajo Nation Sharlene Begay-Platero, chosen for her work in getting the Raytheon Warehouse Expansion to fruition which saved current and future contracts and crucial jobs.

Economic Developer of the Year Award

Patricia Lundstrom. Executive Director of the Greater Gallup Economic Development Corporation

Patty Lundstrom, chosen because of her impressive work in advancing, on multiple fronts, the Gallup Energy Logistics Park which is a unique visionary project that is preparing the community for future growth.

Dallan Sanders Award

Raymond Mondragon, Economic Development Director for Eastern Plains Council of Governments

Raymond Mondragon, selected due to his important contributions to New Mexico economic development including years as Chairman of the New Mexico Partnership and service representing eastern New Mexico on the Economic Development Commission.

Linda Kay Jones New Mexico First Award

Mike Espiritu, President/CEO of the Otero County Economic Development Council

Mike Espiritu, selected because of continued passion for economic development in legislation, community assistance and job creation. Espiritu works tirelessly not only for Otero County but for the entire State of New Mexico.

Volunteer of the Year

Les Montoya, San Miguel County Manager

Les Montoya, selected because of his significant contribution to economic development. Montoya has been instrumental in working with the Las Vegas San Miguel Economic Development Corporation's goal of creating job opportunities.

Ethics Award

Laurie Anderson, Business Development Director of the Otero County Economic Development Council

Laurie Anderson, selected for going above and beyond her duties supporting numerous clients' business attraction and expansion efforts, all while handling extremely sensitive data to project completion. Anderson's unwavering integrity is her standard, protecting clients and their company's information with the highest degree of professionalism.

The award recipients were nominated by their peers and selected by a panel of NMIDEA's board of directors.

For more information on NMIDEA go to www.nmidea.com.

###