

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

Contact: Bruce Krasnow

Bruce.Krasnow@state.nm.us

(505) 827-0226, cell: (505) 795-0119

September 16, 2019

Gov. Michelle Lujan Grisham Cabinet Secretary Alicia J. Keyes Deputy Secretary Jon Clark

Student design winners chosen for the State Ornament

Santa Fe, N.M. – The New Mexico Governor's Mansion Foundation and the New Mexico Film Office (NMFO) announced the winner of the design contest for New Mexico's popular official ornament. The 2020 state ornament theme is "New Mexico Films the Great American West." Students were invited to submit their designs in April and the winners were announced Sept. 7 at the red carpet ornament release party at the Governor's Mansion.

The top five contestants were:

- LeRoy Grafe, Institute of American Indian Arts \$250 grant
- Chevenne Garcia, New Mexico State University \$500 grant
- Robert Cantu, Pojoague Valley High School \$500 grant
- Leslie Bello Garcia, Public Academy for the Performing Arts \$1,000 grant
- FIRST PLACE GRAND PRIZE: Carrie Dada, Institute of American Indian Arts -\$2500 grant

_

This special issue is the ninth in a series of collectible, commemorative ornaments created by the New Mexico Governor's Mansion Foundation featuring a historic or notable image associated with the state. All proceeds from the ornament sales benefit the Governor's Mansion Foundation, a non-partisan, non-profit organization of volunteers responsible for the interior design and historic legacy of the Governor's residence



The 2020 Official State Ornament, from the design created by Carrie Dada

New Mexico Economic Development Department Secretary Alicia J. Keyes had the honor of introducing the top five students and handing out their checks. "It's amazing to see such a talented group of students put their creative work out there to be judged," said Keyes "the winning design was professional and very well thought out. Congratulations to all."

Also in attendance was Todd Christenson Director of the New Mexico Film Office, Miss Albuquerque Brooke Ayala, Miss New Mexico Outstanding Teen Brynn Ayala, leading actors from the "Roswell" series, Jeanine Mason (Liz Ortecho) and Nathan Parsons (Max Evans), Actor Brendon Fehr (Michael Guerin from the original Roswell Series), Patty Newman of Newman's Own, and many other special guests.

Past ornaments may be seen here: www.NewMexicoGovernorsMansion.org. As a non-partisan, non-profit organization, the Foundation keeps the beauty and legacy of the historic Governor's home alive through tours and community outreach. Funds raised by sales of the ornament are used for maintaining and preserving the public areas of the home.



PHOTO CREDIT JC Ramirez/XerbTV. Left to right: Tony Martinez (Silverhom Media), Eric Streeper (Xerb), Carrie Dada, Cheyenne Garcia, LeRoy Grafe, Leslie Bello Garcia, Economic Development Department Secretary Alicia J. Keyes, Robert Cantu. New Mexico Film Office Director Todd Christensen. Event Co-chair Jaima Chevalier

###

New Mexico Economic Development Department gonm.biz







